This Christmas I tried to find Christ …..

This Christmas I tried to find Christ where people usually look for him in this season, yet I did not find Him. I searched for Christ at a big festival in the middle of more than fifteen thousand people dancing in front of the Nativity Church, but he was not there either. Bethlehem does not differ from New York anymore; I found nothing but lights, music festivals, wild parties, shopping, “Happy Holidays” banners, religious/ political customs and traditions. Disappointed I was, until I stopped searching, it was then that I found it.

I found Christmas in the eyes of little kids, in their innocent smiles. I found it the eyes of an artists singing for a little girl at Rock to Bethlehem music festival. Watching my friend from Germany whom is a famous artist spraying on the Separation Wall along side with a dozen of kids from the refugee camp was where I felt Christmas and found Christ too, even if spraying on the wall isn’t a Christmas activity. I found Christ in conversations with friends, I felt Christmas looking at my parents hugging out side in a cold night listening to melodies of peace.

Those moments and many more I captured this Christmas, and I would like to share some of those moments with you.

Merry Christmas,

Elias Halabi

 

5 thoughts on “This Christmas I tried to find Christ …..

  1. sobhy egypt says:

    الله ينور .. برافو الياس

  2. Scott Tjernagel says:

    Thank you for the thoughts, Elias. I think spraying on the wall needs to be included on the official list of Christmas activities as long as it remains where it is. We can think of another activity when it is gone.

    I definitely see Jesus in the beauty of your photos.

    Merry Christmas and a New Year full of surprises.

    Your friend, Scott

  3. Robyn says:

    Beautiful photos! Please keep sharing your gift with the world…

    God bless : )

  4. Fíl Lochlainn says:

    ELias, you already know how much I appreciate your photos. You have not simply captured moments, you have captured the essence of what this season really is about. Seeing your photos made it clear to me that Jesus spent this Christmas among the children in Bethlehem. I see Him reflected in their eyes. Thank you for sharing!

    May the Good News of Jesus’ birth fill your heart with joy every day of the coming year. And may peace be your blessing all year through.

    With love from your Irish friend, Fíl

    PS: I totally agree with Scott!

  5. Andrew Mackintosh says:

    Thanks Elias. Love the photos, especially the candy floss machine! God bless you and keep using your gift. Hope to see you again next year.
    Andy & Diane

Leave a Reply

